Min menu

Pages

Netflix tests feature that limits password sharing

 


Netflix is testing a feature that seems to be aimed at reducing password sharing among users who are not members of the same home.

A photo of an email asking the user to register for free on Twitter was shared today via Twitter and was reported by multiple outlets that confirmed the test.

In a Netflix claim shared on Twitter, the service states that if you don't live with the owner of that account, you need your own account to keep watching.

A small number of Netflix users receive a message asking them to confirm that they are living with the account owner by entering details from a text message or email sent to the owner.

This policy was included in Netflix's terms of use, although the company and other streaming services refused to take strict action on participation.

A service spokesman said: "This test is designed to help ensure that people who use Netflix accounts are authorized to do so.

The service seems to entice these users to subscribe with a free 30-day trial offer for the service.

Netflix officially canceled its free demo last year, although it offers free upgrades for top plans during the first month after recording or rejoining Netflix.

If you sign up for the standard plan, Netflix may push you to a premium plan for a trial period, and the feature here is to experience features, such as: high-quality or high-resolution streaming, simultaneous viewing across multiple devices, or additional devices to continue offline downloads.

The company appears to be making exceptions for the free trial of people it knows are using its service, but who do not pay for it.

According to a survey of 1,546 adults in the United States from LendingTree, 4 out of 10 participants used another person's credentials for broadcasting.

In addition, the survey found that Netflix was the most common credit account, with 52 percent of respondents reporting that they used Netflix through someone else's account.

Netflix frequently experiments with everything from a programmed view to a timer-based display, and the company often says that tests don't always lead to a wider release of the feature or tool.

The same may be true for the current experience of sharing a password.

reaction: